Savitribai Phule Pune University


About Savitribai Phule Pune University

Savitribai Phule Pune University, one of the premier universities in India, is positioned in the North-Western part of Pune city. It occupies an area of about 411 acres. It was established on 10th February, 1949 under the Poona University Act. The university houses 46 academic departments. It is popularly known as the ‘Oxford of the East’. It has about 307 recognized research institutes and 612 affiliated colleges offering graduate and undergraduate courses.

Department of technology

Savitribai Phule Pune University’s Department of Technology aims at providing research platform for solving cutting edge industry relevant research problems. The department runs industry-University sponsored M.Tech – Ph.D. integrated programs. Four Technology boards have been established under the umbrella of ‘Faculty of Technology’, namely Chemical and Biotechnology (CB), Computer and Information Technology (CI), Electrical and Electronics Technology (EE) and Mechanical and Materials Technology (MM).

Department of Technology promotes industry-academic interaction in true sense, by providing a formal platform for doctoral candidates to carry out industry sponsored research projects. The sponsoring industries partner with University to define quality research problems of relevance. The academic research guides ensure research potential and industry research guides ensure relevance of the research topic, thus guiding doctoral student carve significant research solutions.

To know more about university